Comment on page
The Views sidebar pane shows a list of saved views associated with the current project. Views can be used to create a story, guiding viewers through a series of data subsets and specific charts that facilitate understanding the insights and perspectives available via the project.
Each saved view has its own URL, so the URL can be shared to bring others directly to a specific view.
The views can be renamed, updated or deleted by clicking in the 3-dot menu. If the project is saved on the server then each view will be given its own unique link that can be shared with collaborators who have access to the project, or made available for anyone if the project is public.
To reorder the views in the sidebar panel, click-and-hold on a view until it
Changes made to a view must be saved in two places: First they must be saved within the view (
Update View) and then the project must be updated.
Video showing creation, renaming, saving, and reordering of views, setting as the default view, plus common errors (described below) during reordering and saving.
Hitting the plus button will create an untitled view with the settings currently displayed. Whatever you are looking at will become the view. If you create a view and want to change the settings, you must make the changes and then apply "Update View".
Any new views or changes you make to the view must be saved to the project, not just the view. The view will not be saved to the project until you save/update the project using the disk icon
Give each view its own descriptive name. The name will be reflected in the URL.
If you set one of the views as the default view, then when people navigate to the Microreact project's main URL, they will be automatically redirected to the Default View. In the Views sidebar, a green checkmark identifies the Default View, if one has been set.
If no default view has been set, then the main project (not a Saved view) will be the default.
Once you have created a view, you can change or edit what you're seeing. Any changes you want to save as the way the view will be, you must save to the view using "Update view". Do not select "Update view" unless what you're currently seeing is what you want the view to be!
Even after you've done "Update view" you must save/update the whole project to save your new view changes to the project.
There is no confirmation dialogue box when you select "Delete view". Once you click "Delete view", the view will be deleted.
If you accidentally delete a view, you can immediately retrieve it by navigating from the Views sidebar to the History sidebar and clicking the "undo" arrow or clicking the line below "Delete view" to return the project to the version right before you deleted the view.
Setting the order of views can help others understand the data and insights in a project, guiding them through a story in a meaningful way.
Click and hold on a view, and then drag it up or down to where you want it. Remember to save your project after reordering the views.
If you don't hold the click long enough before dragging, you'll get this error:
Add files or URLs error, common problem when reordering views too quickly.
- Don't do "update view" for a view you are not viewing, or the view will be overwritten with whatever you are currently viewing.
- Don't navigate away from a view until you've saved any changes you've made to it.
- When dragging to reorder, hold the click long enough, or you'll get an error or dialog box for "Add Files or URLs". If this pops up, click "Cancel" and try to click/hold/drag the view again more slowly.
- Don't forget to save the project after making new views or changes to views.