Microreact
Search…
New Microreact Release 27th October 2021
The new release includes several new features and some breaking changes listed below

New features

  • New panel layout manager allows more than three panels, nesting of panels, and maximisation of a single panel
  • Projects can now include Charts, Notes, and Data Slicer (experimental)
  • Session history allows undo (Cmd+Z or Ctrl+Z) and redo (Cmd+Shift+Z, Ctrl+Shift+Z, or Ctrl+Z)
  • The colouring functionally has now been completely revamped
    • Any column can now be used to colour the panels. Auto-colour will be used as a default when no __colour column is defined
    • A selection of pre-defined palettes are available and these colours can be edited by the user from within Microreact
    • For numeric columns can be coloured continuously using a gradient
    • Colour palettes can now be re-used for other columns with contain the same values.
  • New data file types are now supported e.g Excel or ODS
  • You can now add a geojson file for a map
  • Timeline can be created from a single column containing temporal data in supported formats such as YYYY-MM-DD
  • In addition to geographical coordinates, locations can be specified as ISO 3166-2 codes
  • A new selection panel has been added
  • Projects can be download as a .microreact file or saved on the microeact.org server

Breaking changes

  • Projects are not saved on the upload page unless the user clicks on the save button
  • When a project is saved you can no longer add a website or email address. However those can be added as Markdown links to the project description.
  • Sign in is required for saving projects to microeact.org.
  • Creating and updating project now requires a .microreact JSON file as the request body. Please refer to migrating to the API page.
  • The short id of the project can no longer be changed.
  • Timelines no longer show individual data points, but instead show aggregated data as a histogram.
  • The map summary feature has been replaced with a new selection side panel
  • The saved view button has been removed. To share the current view of a project you can now save the project as a copy to your own account and share the link of the saved project.